Traveling During a Pandemic

We get asked a lot how we afford to travel so much. And how we are traveling during the Covid outbreak. Simply we waited until things opened up again. We stay close to home. We are only doing road trips to sparely populated places. We keep to ourselves and not socialize with others. And most importantly, we stay in places where we have more control over our health that goes beyond masks, hand sanitizer, gloves, and social distancing. Continue reading Traveling During a Pandemic

Cajun Shrimp & Andouille Sausage Boil Foil Packets

Easy, make-ahead foil packets packed with shrimp, sausage, corn, zucchini (aka croquettes) and potatoes. It’s a full meal with zero clean-up. Also known as the Beaufort Boil, Tidewater Boil, Frogmore Stew – though it is frog-less and is not a stew. The Low Country Boil is from South Carolina and is the answer to the New England Clambake and the Louisiana Seafood Boil. But where I come from, Southern California, it is called Shrimp Boil. And we love anything you can throw onto the grill and is fast. Continue reading Cajun Shrimp & Andouille Sausage Boil Foil Packets

The Southern California Date Shake

I grew up in Southern California. Better known as SoCal to us locals. Nothing was more iconic in my California life than the Date Shake. My summers were spent on the sun-soaked beaches between Newport Beach and Laguna Beach. During the winter months, when the weather was too cold at the beach, we would hop out to the Palm Springs desert area in the Coachella Valley. Where date farms are king. Continue reading The Southern California Date Shake

Noodles over alfredo sauce

Shrimp Alfredo w/ Regular or Gluten Free Pasta

This is a cooking collaboration with the wonderful cook & YouTuber Mervat’s World in Egypt. We both are making our version of Shrimp Alfredo. My is made with Cajun spices, heavy cream, sour cream, & parmesan. I cannot wait to see what Mervat has in store for us.
Since I must cook gluten free and regular noodles for my family, I do not premix the noodles with the sauce. The sauce is completely gluten free (no wheat). But if you are just making one kind of noodles, you can toss the noodles in the sauce before serving.
Continue reading Shrimp Alfredo w/ Regular or Gluten Free Pasta

Pumpkin Chocolate Cheesecake Pie (regular or gluten-free)

Are you looking for something that will wow your dinner party? Then you have come to the right dessert recipe. Colorado Martini shows us how to make a delectable layered pumpkin chocolate cheesecake pie with fresh ginger, pumpkin puree, semi-sweet chocolate, cream cheese, and a regular or gluten-free crust. An out of this world scrumptious Thanksgiving / holiday dessert that will wow your family and guests. Continue reading Pumpkin Chocolate Cheesecake Pie (regular or gluten-free)

Squash Blossom Soup

Squash blossom soup or crema de flor de calabaza is a wonderful way to use the part of the squash plant you may have not used before.

Squash blossoms can come from any summer or winter squashes. Although it is thought that winter blossoms are slightly more bitter. But they all are edible. The taste of a squash blossom is mildly like the squash it comes from.

Zucchini Flower, Pumpkin Flowers, Squash Blossoms in Hispanic cultures are referred to as Flor de Calabaza. They are used in Mexican Cuisine and in pupusas in Salvadoran cuisine as an ingredient in quesadillas and empanadas. Continue reading Squash Blossom Soup

Kombucha – The Complete Guide

Kombucha the Complete Guide – In this two part video, we will show you the complete process of brewing your own kombucha. Homemade kombucha is so much better than store bought. It is not vinegar tasting like you find in the store. In part 1 we will show you how to create plain buch from beginning to end. In part 2 (another video) we will show you how to flavor your kombucha. Continue reading Kombucha – The Complete Guide

Zoodles Made Easy (aka: Zucchini Noodles)

Zucchini noodles (also known as “zoodles“) are a great gluten-free, Keto, Paleo and low-calorie, zucchini pasta. They are usually made using a spiralizer, julienne peeler or mandolin.
When I first tried zoodles in a restaurant. I could not believe how much they tasted like pasta. I found it quite startling. I am gluten-free and my family is not. So, I wasn’t making many pasta dishes. Until I found zoodles. Continue reading Zoodles Made Easy (aka: Zucchini Noodles)